No announcement yet.

Know you Canna-Rights in Hawaii

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Know you Canna-Rights in Hawaii

    Hello guys, here are some pieces of info you need to get acquainted with before you think of doing some pot in Hawaii while there for either vacation or visit.

    Medical Laws: In 2000 the state of Hawaii legalized the medicinal use of cannabis for qualified patients with debilitating ailments. Patients are given signed prescriptions from their physician which state that they would benefit from the use of medical marijuana. While Hawaii does not have any medical marijuana dispensaries, patients are permitted to either grow their own cannabis or designate a caregiver to do so for them. Hawaii permits doctors to prescribe medical cannabis for any of the following conditions: Cachexia, Cancer, Chronic pain, Crohn's Disease, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Multiple Sclerosis and Nausea.

    Legalities:In Hawaii, patients and their caregivers are permitted to cultivate up to 7 cannabis plants and possess no more than 3 ounces of bud. Of the 7 plants, only 3 are permitted to be in the flowering cycle. Medical marijuana patients from visiting states are not granted protection from prosecution in Hawaii. Only a Hawaiian medical marijuana card allows patients to legally grow, possess and use marijuana.
    RECREATIONAL LAWS: While Hawaii has not decriminalized the recreational use of marijuana, it is certainly one of the least strict states when it comes to marijuana possession. Infractions under 1 ounce can result in a misdemeanor charge with up to 30 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. 1 ounce to 1 pound is also a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine. All possession with intent to distribute charges are a felony, ranging in punishment from 5 years to 20 years, depending on the amount.
    Sale of less than 1 ounce of bud is a misdemeanor offense in Hawaii that can result in up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine. Sale of anywhere between 1 ounce and 1 pound is a felony that holds a maximum sentence of 5 years, coupled with a $10,000 fine. For 1 to 5 pounds of marijuana an individual can face 10 years and a $25,000 fine. Over 5 pounds and a person can find themselves facing up to 20 years in prison with a $50,000 fine. Sale of any amount of cannabis within 750 feet of a school building, park or within 10 feet of a school bus is an automatic felony offense with the possibility of 5 years behind bars and a $10,000 fine.
    Cultivating anywhere from 25 to 50 plants is a felony with 5 years and a $10,000 fine. 50 to 100 plants is a felony as well with up to 10 years in prison and $25,000 in fines. Over 100 plants is a felony with 20 years in prison and $50,000 in fines.