advice on container and soil prep

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• advice on container and soil prep

I'm very new to all of this, I need advice please. starting out with bag seed just to see how it all works. The soil I will use is : Recipe 420 Potting Soil
    The Emerald Triangle blend is a special blend of ingredients hand selected specifically for the needs of professional flower growers. Our 100% natural & organic formula is carefully crafted to provide the ideal conditions for cut flower production. Recipe 420 is a blend of premium aged fir bark, coir, sphagnum peat moss, pumice, earthworm castings, seabird guano, crab meal, and humic acids. Enhanced with mycorrhizal fungi and beneficial soil bacteria
    I will plant the seedlings in a 5 gallon bucket to grow. HOW should I prep the bucket ? holes for drainage ? any other medium in the bottom for drainage ?
    The lights will be T5 fluorescent with cfl's for added light. The grow area will be all white until I can afford some mylar or a grow tent.
    This is all I have to start with.
    Tia crazy

Welcome crazy_teuful

The 420 soil sounds like good potting soil and yes, you'll need holes in those 5 gallon buckets. I recommend drilling 7 or 8, 1/2 holes into and spaced evenly around the bottom of the buckets for maximum drainage. Also recommend using perlite too.

Those ingredients in the potting soil, with perlite and adding holes should give you a good start with a dependable soil mixture, for your first grow. Let us know if you have any more questions. Best of Luck to ya.

Comment

What he said!

Comment

Thanks Blaze and Mega !

Comment